366th Day of 48Facets

It was a year ago today that 48Facets appeared on the blogoshere with the cleverly titled “My First Post”.  I have taken all of the wit and wisdom that I poured into that first title mixed it with life events, readings and observations, and a dash of feelings to brew the magic that has become a daily read for ten(s) of people. Well it is quality of readership not quantity that counts.

Actually, after the first few months of slowly getting the word out as I became more comfortable with the writing, “hits” have climbed every month. It is unclear exactly how many people a day spend a moment or two with me since WordPress only provides the number of people who click on an article. Anyone reading through an RSS feeder is outside this count.

It would be interesting to know how many regular readers there are with regular defined as averaging at least once a week. I get hits everyday for stuff written long before because people doing searches get linked. The posts that get random viewers most often are the ones with Dilbert in the title, Kunte Kinte turns 50, It Tastes Like Chicken (for both the pics of the T Rex and of Super Chicken) and Responsibility. Typically the search words for this last one are “an essay on responsibility”. I have the feeling that a bunch of high school students are searching the Internet to complete a homework assignment. I hope that I have been plagiarized frequently.

Being someone with an ever-present and not small sense of doubt about what I do I have not yet determined if I have found my voice. This is not to say that I am disappointed in what I write, as generally I am pleased. Regular visitors know that I run from quick hit items to moderate ruminations to the lengthy. The range of material is broad. For now that suits what I want to do. Hope it suits you as well.

My one great disappointment is how little I have done with the whole 48Facets thing. I do believe that people have multiple dimensions to their personalities and that discussing them would be great to write about and entertaining to read about.  Expect to find more posts about people and what makes them interesting.

In the meantime I will continue to share biking, fathering, and the occasional work stories as well as any random topic that tickles my fancy. (I have been waiting a year to find an opportunity to say that.) Please keep reading, tell your friends and let me know that you are out there by commenting from time to time.

                                                       cake.jpg

About 48facets
What you read is what you get.

6 Responses to 366th Day of 48Facets

  1. Frank says:

    Dude, first, happy blog birthday. That’s a big milestone. And many more to come.

    Second, it’s a delight to see 48Facets pop up in my RSS reader. I love it. Your writing is you. It’s got a real voice. It’s meaningful. It’s right on the money.

    I’ve talked with others about your writing and how much we like it. That’s a lot.

    I’m dazzled by what you write…and how you think. You are the Ubermensch. I like that. And like to read about it. Happy blogiversary. Well done, man.

  2. 48facets says:

    Dazzled. I will take that at face value and say thank you. I have trouble internalizing words like that being applied to me.

    None of this would have been possible without you. You gave me a gift.

  3. Pinky Bear says:

    Happy Blog Birthday! Coming up on 4 years, myself.

  4. 48facets says:

    Pinky Bear, thanks for checking me out. I think Frank is a better social network than MySpace. I have “met” a lot of interesting people through him.

  5. Pax Romano says:

    Happy Anniversary, Happy Anniversary, Happy Anniversary, Happy Anniversary…

    Now of course, that’s only funny if you recall that Flintstones episode.

    Mazel Tov!

  6. 48facets says:

    Thanks Pax. Unfortunately I do not recall that specific Flinstones reference but I am sure it is hilariously funny.

Leave a comment