Halloween Costume Favs…As An Adult

pirate.jpg

Once I got past childhood, Halloween was never a big treat for me. Heck, I could get candy anytime I wanted. (Still can and do it far too often.)

Playing dress up is not really me. I need a great party, group of friends or a date I want to impress for me to be willing to put on a costume. Three Halloweens stand out.

As a college sophomore I got a last minute invitation. The resident adviser for our dorm floor was Tom. Tom was not only a great guy but one of the best looking guys on campus. His girlfriend had not shown up. They had planned something “cute”. Without her he wanted to do something edgy. I cannot recall who or how the idea arose but we went down to dinner in the dorm as a gay couple. My costume way fairly simple. A pink shirt, white pants, hair parted down the middle and Tom and I held hands. This was mid 1970s before gay was also cool. We got a lot of queer looks from the straight crowd. I think a lot of teen girls’ hearts were broken that night. Not because of me…because of Tom.

A party at my then girlfriend’s apartment. I am in my early 20s. I do not remember my costume but JoAnne was there dressed as a nurse. Jo was a friend of a friend I had not met before. Turns out Jo was a nurse so it was not much of a stretch. What made the night memorable was when Jo searched for a role of masking tape and decided to tape my mouth. Don’t remember what I said but no doubt I deserved it. My first thought was , “I love this woman’s spirit”.  We’ve been friends ever since.

Last dress up occurred with the woman who would become my wife. At that time we had been dating for less than two months. I went as a devil, red long underwear, a black shirt, face paint, horns and a devil’s trident. My wife was the sexiest pirate I had ever seen.  I spent the rest of the night trying not to be a drooling devil–much less scary and not a great date impression. 

I would be interested in hearing about other favorite costumes–adult or child.

PS. While writing this I have been answering the door for dozens of younguns in costume. As the dad of a 16 year old boy I had forgotten how much fun I had taking D around the neighborhood when he was a kid. It was the real Halloween treat.

About 48facets
What you read is what you get.

4 Responses to Halloween Costume Favs…As An Adult

  1. Pax Romano says:

    Rick,
    I feel your pain, man. I’ve gone to plenty of parties in the past and had to pretend I was straight! 😉

    Halloween is a great holiday, I love it more than Xmas in that it is, for the most part, stress free and low maintenance.

    My fave costume was from about 18 years ago, I did The Phantom of the Opera. I had friend who worked in makeup so she disfigured one side of my face (it was pretty gruesome) and then we put a loose fitting white mask over it. When I “unmasked” I grossed many people out (especially when the latex skin stuck to the mask so it looked like I was pulling my real skin off of my face!). I wore a tux with a real cape. I have the pictures somewhere. That had to be one of my best.

  2. 48facets says:

    Pax, it has been clear from reading your blog that Halloween is big time with you. The posts have been more amazing than usual.

    I’ve never dressed up as inticately as your Phantom. You have got to find and post the pictures on a Fave Foto Friday.

  3. Frank says:

    This year I went as a fat guy awaiting his first heart attack. It was pretty convincing.

  4. 48facets says:

    Frank, time to trade that oldie but goodie in for the trim athletic guy running from the bulls. I will even dress up as a bull for you. Many have said I am full of that majestic animal anyway.

Leave a Reply

