Simple Passover Pleasures

I am not a planner. I tend to do things last-minute. Sometimes that works out and other times not so much.

I ran out of matzoh with three days of Passover to go. I am supposed to be gluten-free or at least wheat free and just finished off box #2 of the spelt matzoh ( the gluten-free matzoh is horrible even for gluten-free stuff).  No problem I thought. There are two grocery stores in the area that cater to Jewish shoppers, at least one must have plenty left.

Stopped at one store this morning on my way to work. I combed the aisles. plenty of regular matzoh, some even whole wheat. No spelt. Anywhere.

I made it through the day on scrambled eggs and potatoes for breakfast and salad for lunch. I needed something crunchy and starchy and I needed it now. The second store had aisles and aisles of kosher for passover product. One entire aisle for matzoh.  Spelt, where are you. I looked and looked and looked again. Nothing. I was forlorn. Then just as I was about to go something caught my eye. One lone box of spelt matzoh peeking out from some other boxes.

I grabbed it. Were there more. No, damn, but at least there was one.

I hate to mix my Jewish holiday metaphors but I need a Chanukah like miracle. I need a box of matzoh made for 1-2 days to last for 3. Then finally as the sun goes down on Saturday night I can order my post Passover gluten-free pizza.

About 48facets
What you read is what you get.

Leave a Reply

