Dodged A Couple Of Bullets

Took my son D back to college On January 3. 182 miles each way. On the way there we decided that 2010 was going to be a great year. Here’s why.

As we were packing D’s friend’s stuff into our already overstuffed station wagon (I had no idea boys would bring home so much for break) I needed to py one of the back seats down to make more room. I then removed the bar holding the canvas that covers the back of the wagon.

As I started to place it on the roof luggage rack something in my brain screamed DON’T DO THAT!!! A small voice in my brain said, You can’t possibly forget that you put this on top of the car, no worries. That second voice apparently forgot how 20 years ago I lost a brand new pair of shoes because I placed the box on top of the car while trying to rearrange some other items. I then got into the car and drove away.

The small voice overcame the screaming voice. Too bad. We were 40 miles away, on the highway doing 70 mph when all of the sudden the screaming voice in my head said OH SHIT!!! I knew I had not put it back in the car. All I could think about was that by listening to the wrong voice in my head it will cost me $250 to replace that piece. CRAP!

As we continued on the sun hit the car at just the right angle at the very moment I was checking the side mirror. The shadow indicated that there was something sticking out on the roof of my car. OH SHIT!! Now I was worried that if the bar was still on the top of my car then a sudden change in direction would send it flying off the car onto the highway causing a 30 car pile up. I headed for the exit.

Sure enough the bar was lodged in the roof top luggage carrier. No $250. No highway collisions. Dodged bullet #1.

About an hour latter we were driving along. Though this journey was long at least the weather was good.

For those that do not know me, I am fairly conservative in my actions. Risk adverse. I set the cruise control to be 8-9 mph above the posted limit which will rarely draw the attention of the cops patrolling the highway. Well, I had at one point to tap the brakes. I then just stayed at the speed of the car in front of me until I could It made sense to re-engage the cruise control.

On a long drive I am not always in tune to all that is going around me. I focus on the traffic. That is why I it was too late by the time I noticed the police car on the median pointing in the direction of my lane of traffic. I checked the speedomoter as I passed him. 83 mph in a 65 zone, in Wisconsin. Another $250 potential event. Sure enough he pulled out onto the highway moments later.

I prepared my son for being pulled over and explained my error in judgement. What a waste. The police car did not have its lights flashing as it passed me. It did however pull in front of me turn its flashing lights on and pull over the car in front of me. Bullet #2 whizzed passed my head. 

My son and I had a good laugh. That is when we decided that 2010 was going to be a great year. Yeah that or I have used up all my luck on day #3.

About 48facets
What you read is what you get.

Leave a Reply

