Take A Chance

I was at a party last Thursday. A celebration. Celebrating the latest big step in the life of someone who takes chances. She is now the VP Human Resources of a major corporation. Pretty cool.

The people invited to this celebration were the extremely bright and chance taking people she knows. Many of these people she hired at one place or another. They made her look good. In return she made them better. They are off doing  great things. Some running their own business and others with much bigger jobs than before.

I have one foot in this group. I am fairly bright and while maybe not the highest IQ of the bunch, I can hold my own. Risk taking however is not what I do. Not the big ones anyway. At least not often.

I get inspired by my friend, what she has achieved and by this group of people. They are special.

But taking a change is not only about making the Big Bet. It is also about the little ones. The ones where you could call it a night but you take one more little chance. The ones that lead to pleasant surprises. That lead to smiles.

The topper on this night of great conversation with amazing people happened at the end. Many had left the bar where we were celebrating but a small intrepid band was not done for the night. I let my self be cajoled into checking out the band upstairs.

There I discovered the Neverly Bros. Band. Three 40 something guys, rhythm guitar, stand up bass and stand up drummer. They played early rock and roll and British Invasion music. For just the three of them the sound was rich and full. This was fun. I do not get enough fun.

So I took a small chance and won. Thanks Sarah and Agent 94.

Between being inspired by these people and some changes at work, I am seriously considering taking a big chance. New job maybe. Maybe. I know that I should. I should take a chance.

About 48facets
What you read is what you get.

5 Responses to Take A Chance

  1. Frank Roche says:

    They loved it. I was sorry to miss it.

  2. 48facets says:

    Frank,
    I missed seeing you but on the plus side I had the longest conversation with Sarah one on one that I have had in a long time.

    Let me know when you will be in town.

  3. Agent 94 says:

    It was great meeting you, too! I’m glad to hear you enjoyed that 50s and 60s cover band. It would be great for us all to meet up again the next time we’re in town.

    Best of luck with your future plans!

  4. Dan says:

    Take a chance! On something!
    You have all the advantages to do something – else – with your career.
    You don’t want to be haunted by “would-a; could-a; should-a”.
    That’s the path I chose: 20 years leaning how to make money. 20 years of making it for someone else. 20 years or more of making it for myself.

  5. Peach Flambe says:

    I never thought of myself as someone who takes chances…I just have an incredibly short attention span and I get bored easily, so I’m always looking for the next interesting thing. I also believe that one should never fear failure…one should only fear succeeding at the wrong thing.

    It was great seeing you last week. We will definitely get the gang together again.

Leave a Reply

