It’s Still Dark At 4:30 In The Morning

I love the summer months for many reasons. The weather. Spending more time outdoors. Biking. Going to outdoor festivals.

One thing near the top of the list is the number of hours of daylight. It is depressing in winter to wake up and then to drive home in the darkness. Yet in the summer there is usually light when I awake at 5;30 and it is still light even if I do not return home until 8.

Today I have an early flight. The alarm went off at 4:30 AM. 4:30 is the winter of the day even in July. The house is silent. It is pitch black. I have to feel my way out the bedroom hoping I do not trip on an errant pair of shoes lying inconveniently in the middle of the floor.

I am tired to the core at this hour. Yet I am flying to sell work. Need to keep moving.

Between 5 and 5:10 the dawn breaks and bits of light seep in through the windows. I move around in the  shadowy light.  By the time the cab pulls up at 5:30 the day has clearly arrived.

If only I could get back under the covers.

About 48facets
What you read is what you get.

2 Responses to It’s Still Dark At 4:30 In The Morning

  1. Frank Roche says:

    4:30 is the winter of the day, even in July.

    That is a brilliant turn of a phrase, my friend.

  2. 48facets says:

    Frank,
    Praise from the master is always appreciated.

Leave a Reply

