Birthday Weeks

cakeMy birthday fell on a Thursday this year–yes it was this past Thursday June 18 for all who still want to send cards and presents.

Thursdays for us working stiffs often means little opportunity to celebrate on the actual day. On this birthday not only did Ihave a lot of work to do but my wife and son were at a baseball game–he was playing, she was watching. So I came home to an empty house. Not the best. But this can happen on mid-week birthdays.

My birthday often also becomes jumbled with Father’s day. Not quite like being born on Christmas but in the same realm. This year it worked out OK. Because they were 3 days apart I received extra consideration over the entire 4 days.

That’s when it struck me. Birthday weeks. Why not? After the first few the specific day becomes less important than the proper celebration. Having a birthday week affords everyone of the same opportunities. And if it is a special one, say Frank’s BIG 5-0 coming up in July, take the whole month. More if you need it. Why not? You are worth extolling.

BTW, there are still 3 days left in my 2009 Birthday Week. Just in case you want to go out and celebrate– preferably with me.

About 48facets
What you read is what you get.

6 Responses to Birthday Weeks

  1. Frank Roche says:

    Hey, sorry to have missed your birthday, but glad to celebrate your Birthday Week. Hope you’re still having a good time.

  2. Dan says:

    Sorry to have missed your birthday- again!
    Have a great Birthday Week; great idea!

  3. 48facets says:

    Frank,

    We had dinner the night before. All part of the celebration–expecially since I realized after I left that I gave neither you or Ami any money for my salad and beer. I owe you a Hamilton or a Jackson.

    Dan, when would the last time we celebrated birthdays together be? The 1970s? Yours? I am thinking July for some reason. Am I close?

  4. Pax Romano says:

    Hey, Frank is turning 50 soon, I am turning 51 in a few weeks, and you just hit 39 … we need to combine all our birthdays and make it one big national holiday!

    Happy RICKFRANKPAX Day!!! The banks are closed.

  5. 48facets says:

    Pax,

    39, how nice of you. I would settle for 50 again. My hair had less grey and I could still read without glasses.

    I am all for celebrating RickFrankPax Day. Just tell me when to book the flight to Philly. I don’t care if the banks close as long as the bars and good restaurants stay open.

  6. Steve says:

    Happy Birthday. Make it the best week. You deserve good things

Leave a Reply

