Are There No Good Guys Left?

Famous people, especially actors, should not be looked to as role models. And yet few people know my friend Gary, my step father Fred or any of the other truly good guys in my world.

With actors especially it is easy to confuse the characters they play with the people they are.  And yet given all the press they get usually there is enough known about their private lives to think you know. So when I read that Morgan Freeman had an affair with his stepdaughter that started when she was a teenager, it saddens me. He certainly played many stand up guys. He had that reputation as well. Married to the same woman for 25 years. Maybe the car accident was Karma.

Mel Gibson’s fall from grace has been well documented. Woody and Soon-Yi.  John Edwards. Too many others to list.

All I can say is that I can take a slew of mediocre movies from Tom Hanks but finding out something that drops him from the Good Guys list would put me over the top.

As long as we are discussing famous prople as Good Guys, my thoughts go to Walter Cronkite who is 92 and reported today as being very ill.

And that’s the way it is.

About 48facets
What you read is what you get.

3 Responses to Are There No Good Guys Left?

  1. Pax Romano says:

    I am pretty sure that Mr. Hanks is genuine, I also here that Ron Howard is one of those “What you see, is what you get guys”…of course, you just never know.

    I felt the same way when all of the Woody Allen stuff hit the press years ago.

  2. 48facets says:

    Pax,

    How can Opie be a bad guy. That would crush me if it were true. I am assuming Ron fits the mold.

    The Wody thing disgusted me at the time but his image was too nebishy to be in that stand up guy category. Not so for Freeman.

  3. Steve says:

    The good guys aren’t the movie heroes. The good guys are the ones who do stuff, not to be recognized, but because it’s right. Your son (or mine) would not care that you just created the best presentation, but would care that you were there for his baseball gaem. Those are the good guys who are left.

Leave a Reply

