Anniversaries

Yes today is an historic day. The first African American President was elected today.

But that is not the sole reason why today made history. The election is a mere footnote next to the 2nd anniversary of 48Facets. Yes two years. Amazing. Many thought it could not be done but with the chant of Yes We Can ringing in my ears it has happened. It started in a small shack on November 4, 2006. After hundreds of emails to Frank asking how do you set these darn things up. It happened. First on Vox and now hosted by WordPress. We look forward to at least 4 more years.

Perhaps even more amazing in its own way is that yesterday was the 28th anniversary of my start in consulting. I began when I was 12 (my standard joke). Chris, who sits in the cubicle outside my office and does the same kind of work, was 3 months old when I started. I came to this career by accident and have wanted to find something else for many of these 28 years. But it turns out that I am good at what I do and Ihave no idea what else would maintain our modest standard of living. 28 years…and a day. Wow.

 

p.s. On a more serious note as I was contemplating my 2 years in the blogosphere I heard on NPR that November 4 was also the day that U.S. citizens at the Iranian embassy were taken hostage in 1979. Day 1 of their 444 days in captivity. The Iranian Hostage Crisis dominated the news and kept the 66 Americans in our hearts and minds for over a year. There but for the grace of G-d…

iranhostages2

About 48facets
What you read is what you get.

3 Responses to Anniversaries

  1. Frank says:

    Congrats on two great years, buddy. The blogosphere is richer because you’re here.

    Oh, and how about that election?!!

  2. Peach Flambe says:

    Congratulations…and thanks for your insights, wit, and the unique lens through which you view the world. 48 Facets is part of my daily “timeout” from the craziness of work – a welcome renewal in a hectic day.

  3. Pax Romano says:

    Two years! That’s like a decade in blog years.

    Well done, my friend.

Leave a Reply

