Don’t Waste My Time!

But he did.

We attended a seminar at the local community college that promised to help us understand the mysteries of funding college education. The great secrets of where to find grants, loans and scholarships were ours for the investment of time. A good investment we figure. College costs at the schools we visited will be $40,000+ per year.

Within 5 minutes I knew I was in an extended sales pitch and not a seminar. i started playing games on my Blackberry until my wife gave me “the look”. On and on he went. I now know that there are a million ways to screw up applying for loans and scholarships. I could have guessed that. After 75 minutes he shared only one way to make it through the haze. Hire him.

He had such unmitigated gall as to have an evaluation form. And we got a certificate for a free evaluation–typically a $250 value. Wow!

I could have been working, exercising, sleeping or being mugged. Any of these activities would have been of greater value.

On the way out his “people” wanted to know if we wanted to schedule our free evaluation. Please, don’t waste any more of my time. I already need to figure out how to recapture 75 minutes.

About 48facets
What you read is what you get.

3 Responses to Don’t Waste My Time!

  1. Frank says:

    OMG, captive sales pitches are the worst. Sheryl asked me a couple of weeks ago if I wanted to go to NYC for two “free” nights. When I asked, we only had to sit through a 90 minute “discussion.” No way possible. Nevah!

  2. 48facets says:

    This captive sales pitch disguised as information is the worst. I also turn down those “free trips” that involve sales but at least you know what you are getting when you sign up.

  3. Pax Romano says:

    Well, at least he did not try to sell you a “time share” in Boca Raton.

    On the other hand, misery loves company; I’m glad that I’m not the only one who wasted some of his time at a meeting this week.

Leave a Reply

