Oasis For the Soul

When things seem to be crashing and the stress and pressures become overwhelming it becomes critical to find some peace for at least a few moments to build back your reserve for more of the same. Typically, I resort to curling up in the fetal position in a dark room. The problem with the virtual womb is it feels drastic. Comatose is not as healing as distraction.

After a rough work week and a morning in the ER with a sick mom, I was crashing. I was lucky to have two oases to visit in the past 24 hours.

First, Friday night at  Fitzgerald’s  28th Great American Music Festival. I wrote about this last year. The Festival is 4 days of nonstop music. I knew I needed distraction after spending much of the day in the ER. What I did not know was whether even music, which I love, could get through the thick wall of numb misery that had built up.

We arrived around 6:30. It was a beautiful evening. At first I could hear but not feel the music.  Eventually, slowly at first, it began to seem through. Between the quality of the music and the quirkiness of a couple of the artists I did finally notice a little body swaying, toe tapping and even a faint smile. 

The second oasis was on my bike the next morning. I had difficulty explaining to my wife why I HAD to ride the next morning. This was not truly a choice to be made.  Since my plan had been to ride Friday and Sunday, riding on Saturday somewhat messed up our plans for the day.

In the state I was in I NEEDED the physical exertion and the solitude of a long ride.  I was in luck. It was the perfect riding day. Sunny, a touch cool, barely any wind and few people out on the bike paths. In order to inconvenience my family as little as possible the alarm went off at 6:30. I leaped out of bed–at 7– and was riding by 7:40.

I had my iPod with me and would normally choose to be accompanied by tunes. Not that morning. It was quiet out. Little but the sound of the breeze and shifting gears. Little car or people noise. Riding without music connect me more to the act of riding. In pseudo-zen terms I was one with the ride. 3 hours and 27 minutes, 52.5 miles later some more of the toxins of the past days had been expunged.

The reality hasn’t changed. Mom is still in the hospital and i have tons of work to do. But, visiting an oasis now and then helps me face my realities for another day.

About 48facets
What you read is what you get.

One Response to Oasis For the Soul

  1. Frank says:

    Well done…I’m glad you got a respite.

Leave a Reply

