Pittsburgh…Texas

Yes there is one. I have been there several times including today. Don’t know where it is? Its next to Mt. Pleasant. 20 miles from Paris. West of Texarkana. 140 miles mostly east of Dallas. When you go, and you will want to once you get to the end of this post, stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Mt. Pleasant. It is by far the best hotel in the area. Be aware that it tends to fill quickly Monday through Friday.

The Pilgrim family led by Bo Pilgrim have had a significant influence on the Mt. Pleasant/Pittsburgh community. Bo and his brother started Pilgrim’s Pride, a chicken company with revenues now at $8 billion. The Pilgrim family also own one of the banks in town. Besides being one of the primary employers in town the family has donated much including parks, a cancer center, and other local landmarks.

That is why if Bo wants to have a 34 foot statue of himself wearing a Pilgrim’s hat then I say more power to him. In case you can’t think of any other reason to go to Pittsburgh, TX. Here’s one. Go Bo.

 

Bo Pilgrim

About 48facets
What you read is what you get.

8 Responses to Pittsburgh…Texas

  1. Frank says:

    Bo knows chicken.

  2. 48facets says:

    I did not think to go with a Bo knows theme. He clearly knows chicken.
    I usually ask to get a plant tour when I deal with a company that makes things. However, after hearing about the “kill plant” I opted not to this time.

  3. James says:

    You forgot to say anything about Pittsburgh Hot Links.

  4. 48facets says:

    James,
    I have not been to Pittsburgh Hot Links but I have been to Randy’s Burgers in Mt. Pleasant. I am told by a local that they were the best in town. I hope to get back again to try out either Bodacious or Blalock’s for BBQ.

  5. Jimmy says:

    I don’t think that James was referring to a particular business, but the little sausages that I have only seen in the east texas region.

    I tried to do a search via google but didn’t come up with anything except this thread!

    Anyways, the little sausages are my favorite and originated in Pittsburgh Texas. If you visit Pittsburgh, do try them!

  6. I’m from East Texas and the website is http://www.pittsburghotlink.com. It gives you the history of the hot link and you can order them online, so you don’t have to drive to East Texas when you get a craving for them.

  7. Darryl says:

    I guess you were all too busy to notice ..We have no “H” on our Pittsburg. I think maybe originally it did.

  8. rabdy’s burger is great indeed. i’ve been there last month

Leave a Reply

