Iron Man Is Fiction? No Way.Way!

Just came back from the movie Iron Man. Nice way to end a hard work week. I sat through the credits because I had a haunting suspicion that I should.  (I was right but I will get to that later.)

At the end of 5 minutes of credits, long after the best boy and key grip, came the standard disclaimer that the characters are fictional and any relation to actual persons is purely coincidental. No S__t. How often do you see men in metal suits flying through the sky and shooting energy bolts from their hands. Does our society really demand such a disclaimer. What does that say about us?

Much has been written about this movie. Even so I will through in my 2 cents. it actually had a story line. Robert Downey, Jr. was tremendously enjoyable to watch in this role. He handled serious, light comedy and droll playboy with equal aplomb. The action scenes were well done, the pretty girls were pretty. Terrence Howard’s skills were dramatically underutilized but even great actors should have the opportunity to make a ton of money in a big blockbuster now and again. Gwyneth Paltrow was a yawn. Too bad. Shakespeare In Love was on TV recently and I thought she positively glowed in that movie.

Stay for the end of the credits. The set-up for the next movie is there.

About 48facets
What you read is what you get.

3 Responses to Iron Man Is Fiction? No Way.Way!

  1. Pax Romano says:

    Everyone who has seen this seems to like it. My partner saw it, but I have this aversion to comic book movies – they make my brain hurt. That said, I might watch this when it comes out on DVD.

    Speaking of movies, I read this the other the day and thought of you!

    http://www.latimes.com/entertainment/news/movies/la-ca-allen18-2008may18,0,3715000.story?page=1

  2. 48facets says:

    I grew up reading comic books before I graduated to the Great Books such as Mad Magazine.

    Something about the whole superhero thing grabbed me. Most of the movies have noy been up to the memories of the comisc but this one was worth watching. The only thing you lose watching on DVD is that some of the sequences are best seen on a big screen.

    thanks for the latimes article. It is very interesting that she purposely dropped out.

  3. Frank says:

    I have to go see that one. It’s been a while since I’ve been at a theater.

Leave a Reply

