First Name Basis?

 

They are everywhere. In restaurants, at airports, stores, office buildings. People from whom you need answers or they provide a service and they wear a name tag. Your interactions with them are typically brief and fleeting and you WILL NEVER SEE THEM AGAIN.            

 

During the conversation or at the end when thanking them, or cursing them, do you call them by their first name?

 

I have mixed feelings. One could argue that by doing so you acknowledge them as individuals and it demonstrates respect. On the flip side, one could consider this a show of personal connection or intimacy that goes beyond the few moments of interaction.

 

Personally I do not think that I would like someone to use my first name if I were Name Tag Person. I would be thinking, “Where do you get off. You don’t know who me”. But that is me.

 

And you?

About 48facets
What you read is what you get.

Leave a Reply

