What’s Up Doc?

bugs_bunny.jpg This phrase can only refer to that rascally rabbit Bugs.

(Definitely not referring to the “madcap” but totally BAD movie with Barbara Streisand and Ryan O’Neil. Shame on any of you for whom Babs was a first or even second thought.)

Bugs was my favorite cartoon growing up.  Even as a small child I could distinguish between the cleverness of the Bugs Bunny cartoons and anything else from Warner Bros. or Disney. Therefore I am not the least surprised that when NPR did a series on famous characters, both real and fictional, Bugs made the list. He defines being a character and what 48Facets stands for.

Here is a little of what NPR reporter JJ Sutherland had to say about Bus Bunny:

“Bugs Bunny is one of the most popular, enduring and recognizable characters in the world. His trademark smirk and his ever-present carrot were born in the late 1930s; he exploded into fame during World War II, and became an indelible part of American culture ever after.

So what makes Bugs Bugs? Well, the bunny’s mercurial nature is essential to his appeal. Bugs is nice, but a bit of a bully, appealing and scary, high culture and low; he morphs from one to the other seamlessly.”

 Bug’s many facets are what made it so easy to make a lot of Bugs Bunny cartoons and for me to want to watch them all. Thank you Chuck Jones and Mel Blanc.

Nothing I can say can top watching the master. Here is one of my “high brow” favs.

About 48facets
What you read is what you get.

5 Responses to What’s Up Doc?

  1. pax romano says:

    What’s Opera Doc is a classic!!!

    “Oh Brunhilda, you’re so wovly,

    Yes, I know it, I can’t help it!”

  2. pax romano says:

    PS,

    I must respectfully disagree about the movie Whats Up Doc. That was one of the few movies with Babs, that I actually liked … I still think the final scene (“Love means never having to say your sorry” ) is a self referential hoot!

  3. 48facets says:

    Pax, the Opera one is classic. Over the weekend I bought a DVD of Casablanca only partly for the film itself. One of the extras is a Bugs Bunny spoof of the movie. I can’t wait to watch it.

    As for the movie, my impressions are from whenever it came out. Being a fan of the great black and white madcap movies such as Bringing Up Baby, I remember this one as seeming dull and forced. However we are open to all opinions on this blog. Especially when someone disagrees repectfully.

  4. Loryn Kogan says:

    I have to admit this Bugs Bunny was good, but no one can compare with Yogi Bear. And his picnic baskets. And his “Hey there…Boo Boo!”

  5. 48facets says:

    Loryn, I prefer Bugs to Yogi but being able to choose your favorite cartoon character is what makes this country great.

Leave a Reply

