Sittin’ On The Dock Of The Bay: Bizarro World Style

Sausalito.jpg 

According to Wikipedia, Otis Redding “wrote the first verse of the song, under the abbreviated title “Dock of the Bay“, at a houseboat on Waldo Pier in Sausalito, California.” Have you been to Sausalito? It has gotten a bit commercial now but still a beautiful place to sit and contemplate life. In the mid-1960s it must have been idyllic. I had my first cappuccino there well before they became trendy. You could only find one in a specialty coffee shop and not on any corner with a green and white sign. On my first trip to this dock of this bay I enjoyed a calm moment after a stressful work day.

Ahhh. Tonight I can only dream of being there. Instead, I am in almost the opposite– or bizarro-place. (For those of you unfamiliar with the phrase find an old Superman comic book, a Seinfeld episode when Jerry describes it or click here.)

I am in the Westchester County Airport where I have been for the past four and a half hours and expect to be for 3-4 hours more. As I described in an earlier post, even though this county is one of the wealthiest in the country, it is a small regional airport. The best place to hang is either the small bar or the accompanying coffee shop. I swear the airport in Ceder Rapids, Iowa that I spent a lifetime in one day had a better menu and better food than this place.

Mainly I am peeved at United Airlines, specifically the woman behind the counter here tonight. My flight at 5 pm was cancelled. O.K. I am a frequent flier, that happens often due to weather in Chicago. The next United flight was scheduled for 7:40. They told me American Airlines was having similar problems. Liar, Liar. Two American flights left 30 minutes after I had made my way to the coffee shop. I rushed back to the the counter where Liar told me they did not have time to put me on those flights and that the next American flight which was scheduled to leave an hour before my new flight was risky. I would be on standby and would have to give up my guaranteed seat on United. Well of course the American flight left and my &:40 may leave at 11:11 pm…or may not. Best case scenario I get home at 1:30 am after leaving at 5 this morning.

I just checked Wikipedia. At the end of its description of the bay at Sausalito is a picture of me at the Westchester airport with the caption “Sausalito:Bizarro World”. Check it out if you don’t believe it.

 Now sing with me, “Sittin’ in the morning sun….”

About 48facets
What you read is what you get.

One Response to Sittin’ On The Dock Of The Bay: Bizarro World Style

  1. Frank says:

    I hope you got home, but honestly, I’m glad you got stuck. Nothing like reading about Bizzarro World. That’s classic, man. Classic. And Liar can be your antagonist. Brilliant!

Leave a Reply

