Fasting Goes Slowly

For Jews around the world last night at sundown Yom Kippur, the Day of Atonement, began. This means many things. Most importantly it is the last day of the 10 day period beginning with Rosh Hashanah during which you ask forgiveness from your sins of the past year and hope to be written into the Book of Life for another year.

You are asking forgiveness from G-d for the sins against the 613 commandments but also from every individual whom you have harmed. Sins of omission as well as commission. It is an introspective and solemn day.

To help create the mood, one of the commandments is a sundown to sundown fast. I have found that the term fast means different things in different religions so I want to clarify the Yom Kippur fast. NOTHING. No food, no liquids, nada for what ends up being 25-26 hours.

While you would not think so to look at me, I can go without food for a day if necessary.  It is the water or other liquids that I miss the most. I have been at this for 21 hours so far. I will survive as I have every year but my mouth is dry and in an hour or so my stomach will be rumbling.

So while other religions have their food sacrifices such as Lent or Ramadan that last longer than a day. I will put Yom Kippur up against any of those for the pure intensity of 24 hours of nothingness.

About 48facets
What you read is what you get.

4 Responses to Fasting Goes Slowly

  1. Frank says:

    Yep, that’s the real deal, a real fast. Wow, that’s a long time with nothing. Amazing really. And you’re a very good guy, so I’m sure you’re in the Book of Life again for sure.

  2. Frank says:

    Hey, i meant to say, Great TItle.

  3. 48facets says:

    Thanks on both accounts Frank. I put in a good word for you too.

  4. Frank says:

    Thank you for the good word. I genuinely appreciate that,

Leave a Reply

