77 Down 100 To Go

Another picture perfect Chicago day. Sunny, low humidity, morning in the  mid 70s to low 80s by the afternoon. Also 2 weeks to the day before I ride 100 miles for the first time.

Not confident that the two 65 mile rides mixed in with the normal 50+ rides would tell me what I want to know. Am I ready? Five hours and 45 minutes and 77 miles later the answer is… who knows. If the weather cooperates and the energy generated by several hundred riders helps and if the biking gods accept my offerings then I have a great shot.

I am planning on finishing 100 miles in about 9 hours. Anything faster would exceed expectations. That means that if ride day is like today I would have 3 hours to finish 23 miles. Unlike today, I will be riding through the hottest part of the afternoon. Yet, even at a pace of 10 miles an hour for the last stretch I should finish within my 9 hour window. 

I am psyched.

For today’s ride I started with the 44 mile south loop that takes me from southern Evanston to the South Shore County Club at 71st street.  I then rode back past my house up to northern Highland Park and headed home.

I saw my boss J on the southern section. I also paid homage to Karma today given my experience of a couple of months ago. As I was passing some riders they called out to ask if I had bike tools. I may not be much of a rider but I am equipped. I stopped and was able to repair one of the riders’ bikes. They were friendly and thankful. Karma or no Karma it helping others is the right thing to do.

I also had a couple of opportunities to pace behind people faster than me at various times. I like this extra incentive, at least until they start pulling away and I lose sight of them over the horizon reminding me of how slow I am.

Next week a modest ride just to loosen up and then comes the big day. Check out this site to find out if I finished. It will be obvious.

About 48facets
What you read is what you get.

3 Responses to 77 Down 100 To Go

  1. Loryn says:

    Great job going this distance today–77 miles! Wow!

  2. Frank says:

    You totally have it, man. Runners don’t train by running marathons…in fact, most of them run half marthons…you totally got this one locked down. And gaining bicycling Karma…even better. WTG!

  3. 48facets says:

    Loryn thanks for the encouragement. This ride made me feel as though 100 is doable.

    Frank what you say about training is true with one exception. Marathon training is typically done more than the once a week I ride. Still, I am in much better shape than last year. I look forward to checking this off my list of life accomplishments.

Leave a Reply

