My First Armani

You know how an infant’s toys are often called My First ____. My first book, my first truck, my first doll. I am a child again…just with a bigger bank account.

I have lived in the corporate world my entire adult life. Until the creation of business casual I wore a suit every day. Also, since I work with, and more importantly sell to, senior executives I need to look like I belong even though they earn far more in a year than I will in a decade. I wear either suits or sport coats and ties several times a month. It was time to replenish some stock.

While I need to look good, I grew up in a very frugal house. I have not outgrown the habit of buying on sale, shopping at several stores to get the best deal and spending as little as possible. And yet every once in a while I go crazy on a whim. Tonight was one of those moments of insanity.

I left the house to buy one or two pairs of slacks and maybe a pair of shorts. After dragging my wife to a number of stores, we ended up at Nordstrom’s. I had checked pants prices at 6 stores and decided on a navy pair. I then agonized as to whether $40 was too much for a pair of shorts. Unfortunately someone asked the sales clerk about suits and sportcoats. Their anniversary sale is on now. We looked at a couple of OK items including a reasonably priced sport coat that looked good on me. Then my wife who has a great eye for fashion saw a jacket. It was an Armani. Of Course. Even at 50% off it cost more than my last 2 suits combined. It fit great and made me look even better. I took it off but we just kept coming back to it. Next thing I know the tailor is chalking the sleeves and I own this bad boy. Makes the thought process about the shorts irrelevant.

I am sure this jacket will last forever. I will look like I belong with a bunch of rich people when I need to. And, I will eventually get over the buyers remorse I have when I spend more than $100 on anything. It does make me look something like Clooney. Yes I mean George not Rosemary.

My first Armani. You will not find this for your child at Toys-R-Us.

george_clooney_at_armani_show_02.jpg

About 48facets
What you read is what you get.

3 Responses to My First Armani

  1. Frank says:

    Wow, that just gives me a chill. That is just one of those beautiful items that you will cherish forever. I always liked that Mercedes ad: Never be afraid to buy the very best, yo will never be disappointed.

  2. Steve says:

    I saw the picture of Clooney and sorry Ricky, even in Armani it’s just not the same!

  3. 48facets says:

    Steve, you would have to be blind to see a resemblence. It was good to see you the other day even if it was for a short time.

    Frank, I know the best is worth it… I just wish it were not so darn expensive.

Leave a Reply

