Words of Note

I love words. They can be so expressive. I admit, however, that my reading vocabulary is modest for an educated man yet still above my speaking vocabulary. (The latter I attribute to the need to dumb down communications to senior executives in the corporate world.)

I am especially fond of words that are rarely used, have a high sonic quality but are not– at least in my view– pretentious.  I have been collecting words for about a week and want to share these. I will share more as my collection grows.

Definitions from Dictionary.com

  1. APLOMB.  imperturbable self-possession, poise, or assurance
  2. OBTUSE.  lacking quickness of perception or intellect. Characterized by a lack of intelligence or sensitivity
  3. EPITOME.  a person or thing that is typical of or possesses to a high degree the features of a whole class
  4. INSOUCIANT.  free from concern, worry, or anxiety; carefree; nonchalant
  5. EFFICACY.  capacity for producing a desired result or effect
  6. LARKY.  High-spirited; zestful
  7. IMPERTURBABLE.  incapable of being upset or agitated; not easily excited; calm
  8. Any word spoken in Italian

O.K. Insouciant may be a little pretentious. I still like it.

Please add your favorites.

About 48facets
What you read is what you get.

One Response to Words of Note

  1. Pingback: Words, Words, Words « 48Facets

Leave a Reply

