Color My World

I can be a very critical guy. It is much easier for me to identify your faults, only to help you correct them of course, than it is to appreciate your gifts.

However, something I have known for a long time but often neglect to see became clear the other day. My wife brings color to my life.

On my own I tend to stay within a fairly narrow zone of comfort. Call it the grey zone. I will occasionally step out but not stay for long.  She is the outgoing one, the one with flair.

A simple yet telling story. I had asked for new biking gloves. She bought some on my son’s behalf as a father’s day gift. They were the exact style and size I had requested. One difference. The back, the side that you see while riding, was not the same grey as all the gloves I had ever possessed. Instead a bright red stared back at me. My first reaction was to take them off and suggest an exchange. Yet, while getting the rest of my ride gear together I sensed that I was in my usual rut. I put on the gloves.

A number of times during the ride I would glance down, see the brightness of the red, smile and ride harder.

My wife brings color to my life in both big and subtle ways.

About 48facets
What you read is what you get.

2 Responses to Color My World

  1. Frank says:

    That story made me smile. And I love that song, too!

  2. 48facets says:

    Glad to make you smile. I love the title, hate the song. Way too slow and sappy for me.

Leave a Reply

