Virginia Tech

I don’t know how to feel. 

Yes it was tragic . Yes my heartfelt sympathies go out to those who knew the now dead or were physically or psychologically wounded. Angry, saddened; sure. More confused then anything. I do not in any way comprehend a human being who can act this way. Who kills randomly and senselessly?

At first though it seemed so distant. Not unlike hearing about suicide bombings in Iraq. This was fewer miles away but had the same lack of personal connection. I was going to avoid reading about it or even listening to stories on the news. The facts were not going to help me, provide comfort or even understanding. None of the reporters or commentators has any greater insight than I do.  Keep my distance. 

But then on Tuesday I spent the day with a client in Tennessee.  One of the women killed was an intern and was scheduled to come to work there upon the graduation she would now never have. One of the people in the room had personally recruited her.

O.K. I had to learn something about what happened. I read a day’s worth of newspaper articles. I learned some facts.

I don’t know how to feel.

About 48facets
What you read is what you get.

3 Responses to Virginia Tech

  1. Frank Roche says:

    I was strangely conflicted, too…still am…and didn’t have it in me to write about it…glad you did…makes it more real.

  2. Jeff says:

    As I see it – compassion for the people gunned down is all that one can feel. There’s a lot of reactionary rhetoric flying around regarding gun control, security, etc. Personally I think the cold hard truth is that if someone wants to do something like this, then they’re going to find a way to do it no matter how many laws and rules are in place. If it’s a kamakazi mission, man it’s out of control. We see that every day in Iraq. People need to tune in to one another and we need to better our social situations so that a guy like this gets help before it’s too late.

    jeff

  3. 48facets says:

    Jeff you are right. It just makes me feel helpless. It seems far too easy for some disturbed person to cause mass tragedy.

Leave a Reply

